Jenny Smith
       
 

I’d love to know what you think of my books. If you’d like to be one of my reviewers, send in your comments and I’ll post the best on the site. Email jennysmithauthor@hotmail.com

 

 
 

REVIEWS OF THE ABOMINATORS

5 stars
From my 7yr old: Best book ever!, 14 April 2013
By HJL
My 7 year old twin girls adore this book. They've read it 6 times and find it hilarious. They love the character Cecil and his extremely funny ways. One of those gems of a book that gets real belly laughs.

5 stars
My grandson enjoyed this almost as much as I did!, 13 April 2013
By Mr Gumby (Amazon Vine top 500 Reviewer)
This is a thoroughly entertaining book, eminently readable by its target age range and great fun. It's `rude' enough to offer a guilty appeal without going too far. I thought my grandson was going to wet himself, laughing hysterically at times!
The book has many interesting characters and is nicely illustrated. It should appeal to just about all 7-11-year-old boys and many girls as well. Looking forward very much to the next one.

5 stars
Hilarious read, 4 April 2013
By Rob Smith (Amazon Vine Top 500 Reviewer)
I got this for my 9 year old boy, he has read lots of similar books such as Genius Ideas (Mostly) (Tom Gates) and also the Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Book 1), but he doesn't like the books that have that comic look text to them where the text is at all sorts of angles and there are speech bubbles with daft scribbled drawings, wimpy kid has loads.
The Abominators has proper text and layout, much better, the drawing are fun and don't take away from the reading.
My little lad loved the book, thought it was funny and had a smile on his face as he was reading.
Loved the characters Mucker, Boogster, Cheesy and Bob, and of course Cecil Trumpington-Potts
Hilarious read, reminded me in some ways of me reading some early Tom sharpe books that made me laugh out load.

5 stars
funny wunny woo!, 30 Mar 2013
By Chloe Leckie
I would highly recommend any books by this author! She has a wicked sense of humour that will make you laugh out loud! Looking forward to the next books!

5 stars
Panty Wantylicious!!, 29 Mar 2013
By Ali Griff
I read this book to my boys, aged 11 and 9 over the course of two evenings (we couldn't put it down!). It is a hilarious family read with a wicked sense of humour that appeals on many levels. Both boys have re-read it, the oldest simply because it was so entertaining and the youngest, who struggles with reading, was motivated to get from one funny antic to the next! Very much looking forward to the next instalment.

5 stars
Laugh out loud!, 21 Feb 2013
By Andy Ding
Brilliant!- both my boys loved reading this book and when I took a look it even had me laughing out loud. Perfect for kids aged 7 - 10 who like cheeky humour. We can't wait for the next one.

5 stars
Hilarious, 18 Jan 2013
By Vicki Cole
As a headteacher of a primary school, I've just read this book to see whether it would inspire and encourage boys of 7+ to read. It will! We will be puttifng some copies in school and look forward to the publication of the next two in the series.

4 stars
A book that will be more appreciated by kids than by their parents!, 5 April 2013
By Sara Durston (Amazon Vine Reviewer)
The Abominators are a gang of four primary school kids who enjoy causing mischief, whether flicking bogies across the classroom, pouring vegetable oil over the floor to make the teachers slip over or filling the school toilets with strawberry jelly. They aren't interested in making new friends, especially the previously privileged but now poor, Cecil Trumpington-Potts and his `babyish' way of talking. Sadly (for them) Cecil has other ideas and is prepared to do whatever it takes to join the gang and so his initiation begins!
I liked this book, the illustrations are great and it has a good vocabulary. As I'm the parent of an `exuberant' child, I am slightly concerned that this book might give him ideas but I can also see that it's just the kind of book and just the level of naughtiness and humour that kids find hysterical!
Perhaps this is a good book for reluctant readers, especially as it is the start of a new series. Good fun.

REVIEWS OF 'DIARY OF A PARENT TRAINER'
 
Parent Trainer is the best book I have ever read, young girl teenagers can really relate to it. It is a really good book and I would highly recommend it. I refused to put the book down after starting it really is one of the best books that I have ever read. It is so funny. It is exactly what would happen and how you would feel as a teenage girl but also unique I really felt that it was a book I could relate to. It is about boys, enemies but most importantly how you can live with your parents!
Review by Holly - 13

Katie Sutton is thirteen years old and lives in a small town where she can't go far without bumping into one of her relatives. As a self-proclaimed expert in operating the 'Grown-Up', she is writing a handy and comprehensive reference guide to understanding, predicting and controlling the Grown-Ups in anyone's life, for the use of teenagers everywhere. It includes descriptions of the various modes the Grown-Up operates in and how to handle them. But then Katie's mum starts dating Yellow-Tie Man and Katie's methods don't seem to be working anymore. How can she regain control over her Grown-Up... not to mention all the other things that are going wrong in her life?

Diary of a Parent Trainer is a fast-paced and entertaining novel and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. The guide extracts in the book are eye-catching and amusing, and I'm sure anyone who has ever had a Grown-Up in their lives will find plenty to relate to!

Katie is a great character who's lively, witty and full of determination, and I loved reading about her friendship and relationship issues. Katie's family is also wonderfully realistic - the family members have their own problems and certainly don't always get on, but it's clear that they care about each other. There are some fascinating and hilarious characters in Katie's extended family, too. Katie's observations are often funny and sometimes very moving - some sections took me by surprise and left me with a huge lump in my throat.

Diary of a Parent Trainer is a very sweet, fun and touching book. Highly recommended to readers aged 10 to Grown-Up!
Review by Luisa

My daughter read it in two days and loved every page. A great book for any teens who are still having difficulties operating their grown-ups.
Review by Andy Ding

PRE-PUBLICATION REVIEWS OF ‘DIARY OF A PARENT TRAINER’

I received this lovely little title for review only recently. It wasn't a book I would have asked for or picked up in a shop but I am so glad that I have had the chance to read it.

Jenny Smith's book has been compared to Louise Rennison but I actually think this book is better than any of the Georgia Nicholson books I have read (I never bothered to finish them). What I really liked about the book was Katie the main character. She is just a lovely gorgeous teenage girl who is fab without airs and graces and tantrums. I wish more of the teenage girls you read about in fiction were like her because she was just so lovely and normal and totally without any kind of ego or quirk that can irritate the pants of me.

The whole story was really nice in that it had really lovely morals. The family involved were really normal and you could see that they really loved each other. I loved how the whole story played out (there were some crackingly funny moments thrown in). I also loved the idea that almost the entire village was related to one another as I imagine that isn't all that uncommon in some of these little villages in the UK.

All in all a fab book which would be ideal for younger teenage girls. Up to date, modern and 'with it' without being cringy with a fab new role model who is awesome.

Review by Kirsty at www.overflowinglibrary.com

Jenny Smith has created a great new character in Katie Sutton who narrates this novel. She is feisty, opinionated and absolutely convinced she can 'operate' her grown ups like most teenagers. The modes of operation especially irritated mode and start-up raised
more than a few laughs of familiarity from myself and my children!

The guide, however, is simply the central plank of a funny and touching story that deals with the various situations life throws at Katie. There are a number of carefully handled threads that make this a more complex novel than most in this genre. The sections dealing
with Katie's dad are beautifully written and extremely affecting. If I had one slight disappointment it was that Stuart never became more than a peripheral undeveloped character, but given the narrator it is perhaps completely accurate that Katie would know little about him
and be unable to tell the reader much about his true character. Overall, then, an excellent novel just as rewarding for grown ups as for
their trainers!

Review by David Pearce

I thought it was really funny, and interesting. I thought the way you described the grown up as if they were a machine, is clever, and very unique. I think that writing the book from Katie's point of view made the story better.
Review by Mary Beth Howard